Summer To-Do’s

Summer is ushered in by children all around the world with open arms because nothing can say vacations better than summer! But that also means locked in afternoons by over protective mothers (from the children’s point of view not mine πŸ™‚ ) to save their kids from the harsh sun. My mother too, fit in this league. I did not mind much because I got to do all the things I loved and that too with permission and no time limit!

The best part about summer was all my cousins visiting and endless hours of board games, dumb charades, playing cards and my favorite of allΒ carom (we recreated some magic this year too *wink*).

I also got out my pastels and spent incalculable hours filling color into the lives of animals, birds and even princesses. That is unlike me, but I used to love coloring the princesses simple because I could use a lot of shades (lacked the feminine side a little bit πŸ˜‰ ).

Every year after the final exam and just at the beginning of the summer vacation by mother used to take me to Crosswords to pick up books – again without any limit. That was the part I looked forward to the most. Especially because the Harry Potter books used to release every year and my heart used to leap with joy. I can still read the entire series tirelessly.

And at last but definitely not the least, to make all these activities bearable in the sultry heat, tumblers filled with chilled drinks kept me the best company.

14 comments

  1. The Retiring Sort · May 31, 2012

    Great colorful summer memories!

  2. StyleDestino · May 31, 2012

    great photography!!! reminds me of the school days, havent played carrom in like ages.. wow such lovely memories

    • ThoughtsUnrestricted · May 31, 2012

      πŸ™‚ I am glad I could rekindle the memories..
      you know you should totally play carom again, the white powder everywhere and the friendly competitive rivalry are worth reliving!

  3. if i ever cross your mind · May 31, 2012

    Nice snaps to pep-up the well written article… πŸ™‚ There was also this game called Business.. One of my most favorite… along with the cards for the summers … such a nice reminder of those school time holidays!

  4. xs2rahulz · May 31, 2012

    u made me nostalgic ! crayons !

  5. atreegrowsinbklyn · May 31, 2012

    Feels like images from my childhood. Thanks!

  6. earthymind · June 1, 2012

    love the images…so colorful.Very summery!!!

  7. Cardinal Guzman · June 5, 2012

    Great set of shots. Enjoy your summer!

    • ThoughtsUnrestricted · June 18, 2012

      Thanks a lot CG…
      And now because of my late late reply I am currently enjoying the monsoon., πŸ˜€

Your Thoughts...

