10 things photography changed about me

I had resolved not to write posts with such cheesy titles, but could not resist this particular one. I ride my bike to work every day and that’s pretty much my self introspection time. Almost all of the posts I have written till now have been conjured on my bike. Today was no different. I was in my usual flow of thoughts when I started thinking about my camera, photography and what has changed in me ever since I got my gear.

  1. Photos with ‘me’ as the subject are not important anymore.
    Surprising turn of events. No matter what people say or how humble they try to act. Nobody can mask that smidgen of narcissism while looking at photographs, almost always we are looking to see how we look in the pictures. But as soon as you get behind the lens and click someone else’s picture, a compliment paid to the photograph is the biggestΒ complimentΒ for you.
  2. Places get excitement quotient and brownie points for being photogenic.
    Some people can very easily misinterpret this particular point. I seen photography enthusiasts being misjudged by people when they think that people with fancy cameras forget to enjoy the beauty and essence of the place. I would say its the bang opposite. Atleast in my case I have learnt to better appreciate a structure or location when I try to capture it. Not just that, every picture i take is with the aim that the person viewing it feels the mood and maybe even relate to what I felt then and there.
  3. I feel restless if I don’t click pictures every once in a while.Β 
    I confess, I am not the most particular or sincere person. Boredom comes quickly to me and I speedily lose interest. Surprisingly I discovered something that I am consistent at.
  4. I have become more observant.
    I was always observant of new places. What changed about me was, I became more observant of the most mundane and everyday places. I pass a tree that’s stood around the corner of my street all my life which I barely noticed all these years, suddenly looks different every day now.
  5. Changed the way I look at things.
    Angle and perspective of looking at things, not just visually moulds a person. My perspective towards things visually has definitely changed and this also reflects in the way I deal with situations.
  6. Camera bag, new cool handbag.
    Handbags and girls are inseparable. You can find almost anything in my handbag, starting from wet tissues to wallet to lip gloss to kindle. I can just go on, but I spare you the horrors of my handbag πŸ™‚ Now-a-days I have stopped lugging around my huge handbag and all my stuff has found appropriate compartments in my camera bag. Finally my stuff is now organised and I can find everything within 2 seconds πŸ˜€
  7. Mild passion slowly turning into a raging addiction.
    STATUTORY WARNING!

    What you percieve as just an interesting hobby will soon become an inseparable addiction. You will get angry when you don’t have your camera and you want to click a picture. You will be known as “the person who clicks all the time”. At one moment you are just trying your hand at this cool new interest and before you know it, you will have the ICS (Incessant Clicking Syndrome) and there is no escape, cure or rehabilitation. “Hi, I am a photographolic!”
  8. Weird looks and crazy experiences.
    I will just give you a few tips and let your imagination do the work of building the stories around them –

    • Look where you are standing before getting carried away while taking a picture
    • If you click a candid picture of someone on the road, do not go and show it to them. It will NOT be appreciated.
    • Make sure your camera is always loaded with the memory card and your battery is always charged.
    • Ignore people around you if you need to take picture lying down or squatting because they WILL comment.
  9. Wonderful blog audience. Grateful for all the support.
    Over the past year I have come across such wonderfully talented people and I have learnt so much from their work. I really love to document my work here on my blog and the wonderful comments I get never fail to brighten my day. Thank you all.
  10. One of the two most integral parts of my life.
    As simple as that. Out of the two things I absolutely cannot live without, photography is one.

I am very pleased with the outcome of this wonderful interest and I hope to continue clicking. Despite all the scary warnings and tips πŸ˜‰ I will encourage the hidden photographer in you to peep out. It’s totally worth it!

10 comments

  1. Cardinal Guzman · April 18, 2012

    This is a great list and I totally agree. The only thing I can’t relate to is #6: because as a man everything I need to bring with me can fit in my pockets – there’s no need for a handbag πŸ™‚

    • ThoughtsUnrestricted · April 18, 2012

      I certainly would not expect you to understand that one πŸ™‚
      I am glad you could relate to the list πŸ™‚

  2. A.M · April 18, 2012

    Gal….you have covered all the points just bang on!! I thought I was the only thinking such stuff…so glad you put them in exactly the same words!! πŸ˜€

    • ThoughtsUnrestricted · April 18, 2012

      Its so nice to know someone who is going through the same transitions!
      Thanks a lot AM for your wonderful comment! πŸ™‚

  3. Tejashree · April 18, 2012

    Point #1 and #8, yes I completely agree! πŸ™‚

  4. Mod Eye Moody · April 19, 2012

    I totally understand # 7. πŸ™‚ ICS… haha love it!

  5. if i ever cross your mind · April 21, 2012

    Very nicely written. You have put down almost all the thoughts perfectly… and that point 3 is ‘oh just so me’ πŸ™‚

    • ThoughtsUnrestricted · April 24, 2012

      I am so glad you liked it and related to it! πŸ™‚
      and good to see I am not the only one out there! πŸ˜€

Your Thoughts...

