Thoughts of a buff..movie buff

I love watching movies, and what I love even more is when I don’t leave the movie theater disappointed. Today was one of my happy days and I left the movie theater awed, thrilled, surprised, satisfied and entertained to the core. I am talking about a Bollywood movie that released this Friday – Kahaani. Like any other film industry, bollywood too has a string of meaningless movies which make me regret spending on the tickets and more so the same amount on interval munchies 😉 . But it’s all worth it when you are pleasantly surprised (or in this case, gruesomely moved).

It is needless to say that the movie is a MUST WATCH. The lead actress, Vidya Balan, does an excellent job. Her work in this movie was flawless, effortless and effective. All this said and done, today was also one of the most embarrassing moments of my life. Out of the blue you think? Nope, it’s got to do with this movie. It has been established by now that this was a nail biting thriller.  Somehow, I get very anxious when I am anticipating something freaky. Usually my reaction is tossing my popcorn a little, or poking my nails into the shoulder next to me (known shoulder off course 😉 ) or maybe silently closing my eyes hoping for it to get over. But today was a tinsy bit more edgy than my usual self. As something thrilling was happening on the screen, I dug deep into my seat and…….shrieked! I let out a funny, tiny squeal.  And you ask me how embarrassed was I? Well all I can say is, all the way back from the movie theater and even as I am writing this post, I am in a fit of giggles. My best friend was sitting on one side and my sister on the other side of me, I am still surprised how they maintained a straight face! Bravo to you guys! It must have taken tremendous amount of effort I am sure 😀

However, if and when you stop giggling, this is actually a huge compliment to the director of this movie Sujoy Ghosh. So  I dedicate my squeal as a salute to the directorial genius of Sujoy Ghosh and to the acting prowess of Vidya Balan. It is safe to assume that all the great work done by everyone involved in the movie is sure to bag all the accolades, prizes, awards and honors. I bow to this job well done!

2 comments

  1. Rick Boyer · March 14, 2012

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  2. conservingquirky · March 16, 2012

    really gripping movie!!

Your Thoughts...

