A city in snapshots

A few months back I was in Mumbai, the busiest city I have ever seen!

While i was there, I visited Colaba causeway. Being a girl, off course, I am a shopaholic and roadside shopping is my favorite. The reason for that is, I can buy a lot of stuff without feeling guilty about spending too much 😉 .

But this time, Colaba causeway was not just about shopping. I tried to capture a few frames that I found intriguing!

This was taken during the journey towards Colaba. Believe me the journeys are the hardest!

After reaching the causeway I was starry – eyed!! The catchy colors, the funky fabric, the shiny jholas(kind of bags) mesmerized me! I felt like one of the kids from the movie Charlie and the chocolate factory. Every time I go shopping the world around me completely transforms!

This time I felt instead of just going shopping, I should capture these moments in picture frames.

I think for the first time I got so much joy out of not shopping (instead clicking! 🙂 )

I know this is not one of the best snaps, but I just love the color composition! Every color in this frame is beautiful.

These days I have started finding lamps very interesting! Everywhere I go I notice the lamps and luckily wherever I have been going, do have a very quirky selection of lamps 🙂

Here are some really funky lamps i saw…

 

Mumbai also has some really beautiful Victorian buildings which totally stand out. I loved the feel they had around them….

12 comments

  1. sonali · May 27, 2011

    The pics r Pretty… 🙂
    and i like your posts too…

  2. Lalit · May 29, 2011

    Hmm..Good!

    Loved the first and last pic.

  3. earthymind · May 30, 2011

    love all the shots,esp the ones with the lamps!!!

  4. simplesplendidthings · May 31, 2011

    Beautiful photos! Love the colors. Hope to visit India someday…

    • Sheetal · May 31, 2011

      Thanks a lot…And you definitely should visit…
      this is just a glimpse of how colorful India is 🙂

  5. donsalari · May 31, 2011

    Brilliant pics! Loved them all!

    • Sheetal · June 1, 2011

      Thanks a lot 🙂
      I am glad u like the pics 🙂

  6. Kamakshi · June 24, 2011

    Should’ve taken time off to hit the other end of nariman point too…may be this will help 🙂

    http://picturesqueworld.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/a-quiet-frame-of-a-bustling-city/

    • Sheetal · June 25, 2011

      yes that was totally a part of the plan but the distances in mumbai are…you know 🙂
      but next time thats is absolutely on the agenda…!

  7. Pingback: A City in Snapshots – 2 « Thoughts Unrestricted

Your Thoughts...

