>Violet Hill

>

I am back with another brilliant song by ColdPlay. I remember we learned a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson, “Home they brought her warrior dead….”. I would say this song is the modern version of this legendary poem. The lyrics portray the chaos of emotions going through the minds of millions of soldiers who lose their innocent lives for a handful of depraved souls.


It was a long and dark December
From the rooftops I remember
There was snow, white snow
Clearly I remember
From the windows they were watching
While we froze down below
When the future’s architectured
By a carnival of idiots on show
You’d better lie low
If you love me, won’t you let me know?

Was a long and dark December
When the banks became cathedrals
And a fox became God
Priests clutched onto bibles
Hollowed out to fit their rifles
And a cross held aloft
Bury me in armour
When I’m dead and hit the ground
My nerves are poles that unfroze
And if you love me, won’t you let me know?

I don’t want to be a soldier
Who the captain of some sinking ship
Would stow, far below.
So if you love me, why d’you let me go?

I took my love down to violet hill
There we sat in snow
All that time she was silent still
Said if you love me, won’t you let me know?
If you love me, won’t you let me know?




Colours reflect so many moods and Coldplay use the interpretations of different colours very well 
to convey the most complex of human emotions. Where Yellow portrayed the warmth of love in their song “Yellow” , Violet reflects melancholy of love in this song. 
The beginning of the song paints a very vivid picture of a war scene. The ghostly faces of distressed soldiers frozen not just physically but to their very souls stare back at you! Most of the wars are started in the name of religion. The personifications of the religious objects is simply amazing. The reasons for the war are so unworthy that its really hard for a soldier to feel patriotic and that is the most ironic thing anyone can ever come across. The only passion of a soldier is his patriotism and when that dies it is like dying a thousand deaths! 
When duty calls it is so hard for him to leave his beloved. His heart aches, it yells for his beloved to stop him, but she knows she cannot make him weak. The near ones of these brave heroes I feel are even braver to watch them leave knowing that they might not return.
Every time I hear this song, my heart goes out to all those who have lost their son, husband, brother, friend, beloved and to those who live in the constant fear of losing them.
I write today in their honour. My humble tribute to all those who have lost their lives fighting for our safety and to all those who have mustered the courage to see these heroes disappear into the mist of terror.

One comment

  1. earthymind · November 28, 2010

    >every coldplay song is a story in itself…just love em!!!very nicely put together…keep writing

Your Thoughts...

