>In Loving Memory of…..

>
5th of September 2010, Sunday.
This is a special day – its celebrated as Teacher’s Day. But for me this year’s 5th of September was a very auspicious day. We had a puja at our place – SatyaNarayan. My father performed the puja and then it was time for the arti. We started singing the melodious tunes of the artis when all of a sudden I got a huge lump in my throat! I was teleported to my childhood. I was in our temple of Vitthal-Rukmini in Wardha which is my mother’s native place. My grandfather had built that temple and he used to visit it every day at the break of the dawn with pure faith and reverence in his heart. After performing the puja, artis
were recited and this is how my grandfather started every day of his life.
I visited my grandparents in all my vacations, along with my mother, her 2 sisters, 1 brother and all my cousins. We all accompanied my grandfather everyday for the puja. The atmosphere in the temple used to be of such serenity as I have experienced nowhere. I was reliving the exact experience again this Sunday. I could see Dada facing the God, with a ghanti in one hand and the puja thali(plate) in the other and a look of immense piousness. He was clad in specklessly clean ,pure white dhoti and an immaculate silk kurta. He was chanting the arti in his deep soothing voice. I was suddenly overcome with an overwhelming remorse and I realised where I really was.
The words of the hymns could hardly escape my mouth and I tried hard to fight back my tears. I missed him immensely. He was one of the noblest man and at the same time the most humble human being. He commanded an air of authority and respect for him came naturally to anyone who knew him.
5th September, is not only Teacher’s Day, but it is also the day of my grandfather’s death anniversary. I dedicate this blog to one of the most important people in my life! I love u Dada and I miss you a lot.

7 comments

  1. Ameya Koshti · September 8, 2010

    >This is amzingly well articulated n expressed!Any reader would feel what you went thru at that moment!Really impressive…

  2. Sheetal · September 8, 2010

    >Thank you so much… :)This is a big compliment!!!

  3. earthymind · September 8, 2010

    >i am in the same phase…it was like reading my own mind…just with better manifestation!!!

  4. sharada · September 8, 2010

    >Manu, majhehi same feelings hote. pan tulahi hi tya athavani alya hyach mala kautuk vatala. te sagal divinech hota. arati mhantana malahi gahivarun yet hota. any ways tyanche ashirvad ahetach. 5 sept la ajunahi asa charrrr hota. asech chan lihit raha. GOD bless you, beta!!!!!!!

  5. sayali · September 16, 2010

    >Incredibly I remember that day when we were in school. Or rather I remember you on that day. You were very brave then. keep writing!

  6. Sheetal · September 17, 2010

    >:) i know…its been a long time…even i remember that day…it was one of the most unforgettable days of my life and all 'cause of the support of amazing friends like u…

  7. Mandar · February 1, 2011

    >very well expressed sheetal. straight from heart.

Your Thoughts...

