>Steal those moments….

>
I was waiting at the signal today in anticipation; watching the digital clock countdown and there were 86 seconds left on the counter. So then i stopped my bike and just started observing the traffic pass me. It was raining and it was a very typical scenario – an uncle wearing a very dull mud colored raincoat squinting to see through the rain, an aunty wearing a floral raincoat could barely keep her balance on a badly disfigured scooty, rickshaw overflowing with children and schoolbags twice the size of the kids.

In all this hoopla my eyes rested on a guy driving his dio. There was a girl sitting behind him clad from head to toe in all the possible apparels to protect herself from the rain. However this guy was drenched to the skin!!! And what intrigued me so much was, while everyone else was in a great deal of bustle to avoid the rain, he was sticking his tongue out trying to enjoy the rain. I did not even realize when a wide smile appeared on my face! In that moment it struck me – there is a child hidden inside each one of us. We are just so caught up in our jobs and relationships and studies and tensions that we suppress this little child who needs to surface once in a while. So take a moment once in a while. Go crazy! Watch silly cartoons, make funny faces in front of the mirror, blast some music and dance in the funniest way possible, have ice cream and don’t be meticulous about not dropping it, jump into a puddle and splash your friends, take an extra effort to step on a dry leaf to hear it crunch or do something, anything that reminds you there is still that child within you!

9 comments

  1. Rakhal · August 19, 2010

    >Good start, Sheetal! Keep 'em coming. Hope to see more of these "simplogs" – I am no Sarah Palin, but I'd like to invent the term 🙂 This blog is simple, yet so true. Almost like a simple thought well articulated. – Rakhal mama

  2. Nirguna · August 19, 2010

    >Excellent Sheetal! Very well said! I am no good with words to show how impressed I am with ur blog, but I really liked it!

  3. sanjana · August 19, 2010

    >wow didi , i really liked your blog and your posts , you really know how to write :Di am smaller than you but , keep up the good work 😀

  4. sharada · August 21, 2010

    >Very nice, Sheetal. Very true. We must enjoy our life just like small child 🙂

  5. aziz · October 7, 2010

    >really good stuff sheetal! out of curiosity, were u wearing something to block out the rain or is the child in you alive? 🙂

  6. Sheetal · October 26, 2010

    >hahahaha….the child in me is alive n kicking!!!I was totally enjoyin the rain!

  7. Bishwajit Bezbaruah · December 1, 2010

    >This writing remind me a very interesting line-"Growing older is mandatory but growing up is optional…:)

  8. Manasi · July 15, 2011

    Sheetal, this is the first time im reading your blog… n im loving it.. hv starting blogs myself.. im very bad at it,, bt ull keep me inspired..! Lovely reading it!… keep writing and live to the fullest…

Your Thoughts...

